Real Name : Joy Olasunmibo Ogunmakin

Born: 14/09/1980 (42 yo)
Birth place: Frechen (Germany)

Citizenship : Germany
Ascendant : Nigeria

Occupation : Singer


Ayo is a Nigerian-German singer-songwriter. She uses the Yoruba translation Ay? or Ayo. of her first name Joy.


Her debut album Joyful, which was first released in 2006, reached Double-Platinum status in France, Platinum in Germany and Poland, Gold status in Switzerland and Italy and Greece. The album was released in the United States on 20 November 2007 by Interscope Records.

She has a son, Nile, who was born in late 2005 and a daughter, Billie-Eve, born July 2010, with her partner, the Afro-German reggae singer Patrice. At the end of 2007, she moved with her family to the Greenwich Village section of Manhattan in New York City.

The president of UNICEF France, Jacques Hintzy, announced on 4 February 2009 that the singer was named patron of UNICEF to promote the right to education for all children in the world.

The French production company MK2 produced 2009 the film Ayo Joy a 90 minute documentary about the singer and her life. The film was directed by Raphaël Duroy and is due in cinemas in early 2010.

Websites & Social Networks


  • Joyful (2006)
  • Gravity At Last (2008)
  • Billie-Eve (2011)
  • Life is real (2006)
  • Down on my knees (2006)
  • And it's supposed to be love (2007) (2008, US)
  • Help is coming (2007)
  • Slow slow (run run) (2008)
  • On aime, on aide (2009)
  • Lonely (2009)
  • I'm Gonna Dance (2011)
  • AYO Live In Monte Carlo (2007, from PBS)[13]
  • Ay? Live at the Olympia (2007)

  • Where Will I Be (vinyl record, 2004)
  • Liebe & Verstand (with Sisters Keepers, 2001)
  • Confusion (with Chris Prolific, 2004)
  • Play Boy (on album PlayUp, 2006)
Music Videos
  • Down On My Knees (2006)
  • Help Is Coming (2007)
  • Life Is Real (2007)
  • And It's Supposed To Be Love (2007)
  • Slow Slow (Run Run) (2008)
  • Lonely (2009)
  • I'm gonna dance (2011)
  • I Want You Back (2011) (directed by J.G Biggs)